Yesterday I had bid on a nice SXGA projector, but didn't win the item, being outbid by two people. I thought it quite strange that less than 24 hours later I got a “Second Chance” email to buy the item. After a little communication, it has become very obvious that this is by no means the real seller, as they're claiming to be in Orlando, whereas the real seller lives in Escondido, CA. The most obvious element of fakery is that nestled in the HTML part of the spoofed eBay email is the user ID “rose1bwl”, which belongs to someone from New Jersey who has already closed their eBay account.
After Googling this phenomenon, apparently it's been going on for two years now, but I haven't heard about it until now.
On 8/12/06, m i wrote:
I am in Orlando FL and this is the reason that i need your full name and full address so i can know how much i will have to pay for the shipping.
Thank you and i will wait for your email with your details.
Lorin Thwaits <lorint@somewhere.com> wrote:
Are you even reading my email? Shipping is not part of the equation here. I want to see the projector in-person and bring you cash. If you want a cashier's check or something that's fine too. Whatever form of guaranteed funds you want.
Feel free to call me on my cell if you want to talk details: 602-###-####
I'm from Phoenix, Arizona, and can come out either in a week or in two weeks from now if you want to sell the projector. I don't even have to meet you at your house if you don't want. You can come to my friend's place in Carlsbad. I just want to see it powered up and make sure things are 100%.
Hoping we can deal,
-Lorin
On 8/12/06, m i <prajituraxx@yahoo.com> wrote:
Hello,
Before any deal i need your full name and address so i can know how much i will have to pay for the shipping.
Thank you and i will wait for your email with your details.
What kind of insurance is included?
Ultimately I'd really like to see the unit in-person and make the deal. If you can wait the two weeks then I can come out with the money.
If not then I can come out next weekend if you really need the cash or something.
-Lorin
602-###-####
On 8/12/06, m i <prajituraxx@yahoo.com> wrote:
Hi,
The price is US $2,201.00 with free shipping and full insurance so if you are still interested in my item, please confirm me your name and address where I have to send the package and in few moments after your reply, I will contact eBay in order to send you the invoice with the details about this transaction.
thanks and I will be waiting for your reply.
To see what would happen next, I've sent this bozo a fake address. I figure whatever comes of this should be good for some laughs, and perhaps informative to eBay's very busy security team.
UPDATE: More developments here.