SharePoint Permissions... Part 1
 
SharePoint Services 3.0 has five permission levels by default. Particular permissions are associated with these permission levels. The site owner has the privilege to assign these permission levels with different users and/or groups, modify which permissions are associated with these permission levels and add new permission levels according to his needs.
Note: Limited and Full Control levels cannot be modified.
 
Default Permission Levels in Windows SharePoint
 
Permission Level
Description
Full Control
Contains all permissions and is automatically given to the Site name Owners group. This permission cannot be modified or deleted.
Design
Users have the ability to create and edit lists, libraries, and pages. They can also apply borders, themes, CSS sheets in the website. This permission level is not assigned to any group but is there for the site owner’s use.
Contribute
These are the permissions given to the site name members by default. These members are able to add, edit and delete items in already existing lists and document libraries.
Read
This is the read-only access of the website. This is assigned to the site name Visitors by default. Users with this permission level can see pages and items, open items and documents.
Limited Access
This doesn’t give the assigned users access to the entire site, but to specific lists, items, libraries or documents. In order to be able to access these, the user must have permission to open the parent Website and read shared data (ex theme, navigation bars). This permission level cannot be modified or deleted.
 
 
List, site and person permissions

Permissions are categorized as:
·         list permissions: permissions related to accessing lists and libraries
·         site permissions: permissions related to accessing sites. Pages and permissions
·         personal permissions: permissions related to creating personal views of web pages
 
Permission
Full Control
Design
Contribute
Read
Limited Access
Permission Type
Manage Lists
X
X
 
 
 
List
Override Check-Out
X
X
 
 
 
List
Add Items
X
X
X
 
 
List
Edit Items
X
X
X
 
 
List
Delete Items
X
X
X
 
 
List
View Items
X
X
X
X
 
List
Approve Items
X
X
 
 
 
List
Open Items
X
X
X
X
 
List
View Versions
X
X
X
X
 
List
Delete Versions
X
X
X
 
 
List
Create Alerts
X
X
X
X
 
List
View Application Pages
X
X
X
X
X
List
Manage Permissions
X
 
 
 
 
Site
View Usage Data
X
 
 
 
 
Site
Create Sub-sites
X
 
 
 
 
Site
Manage Web Site
X
 
 
 
 
Site
Add and Customize Pages
X
X
 
 
 
Site
Apply Themes and Borders
X
X
 
 
 
Site
Apply Style Sheets
X
X
 
 
 
Site
Create Groups
X
 
 
 
 
Site
Browse Directories
X
X
X
 
 
Site
Use Self-Service Site Creation
X
X
X
X
 
Site
View Pages
X
X
X
X
 
Site
Enumerate Permissions
X
 
 
 
 
Site
Browse User Information
X
X
X
X
X
Site
Manage Alerts
X
 
 
 
 
Site
Use Remote Interfaces
X
X
X
X
X
Site
Use Client Integration Features
X
X
X
X
X
Site
Open
X
X
X
X
X
Site
Edit Personal User Information
X
X
X
 
 
Site
Manage Personal Views
X
X
X
 
 
Personal
Add/Remove Private Web Parts
X
X
X
 
 
Personal
Update Personal Web Parts
X
X
X
 
 
Personal