Fervent Coder

Coding Towards Utopia...by Rob Reynolds
posts - 278 , comments - 431 , trackbacks - 0

My Links

News


Rob Reynolds

Subscribe to Fervent Coder RSS
Subscribe to Fervent Coder by Email

About Me

I manage several open source projects. Need...
   ...package management for Windows?
   ...automated builds?
   ...database change management (migrations)?
   ...your application to check email?
   ...a monitoring utility?

I also write for



Like what you are reading? Want to buy me a cup of coffee?
PayPal - The safer, easier way to pay online!

Archives

Post Categories

Sites

Caveat to Adding the Everyone Account in VisualSVN Server

You may experience issues after allowing the Everyone special account in VisualSVN Server, such as not being able to commit code.

VisualSVN Server is a great product to manage Subversion for you!  Recently I posted on how to allow anonymous access to your repository and set up the special "Everyone" account, but I recently think I found a bug in it.  It may be expected behavior for what the Everyone account represents, but for me, it's quite unexpected.

imageOnce I add the Everyone account , it will override any other settings I have for other groups or users (if they inherit their permissions from the parent).  I recently allowed Everyone in a repository so that people could  download source code.  Then I made updates to the code today and went to check it in and found out I no longer had permissions!  Adding Everyone with Read Only access invalidated my committers group!  The group was still there (shown on the right), but for some reason I was being rejected. Below is the from the error log:

[Wed Dec 10 20:01:54 2008] [error] [client _REMOVED_] Access denied: '_REMOVED_' CHECKOUT Presentations:/trunk/IoCPresentation/product/EmployeeSystem/infrastructure/logging/custom/Log4NetLogFactory.cs

This isn't the first time I have noticed strange behavior since adding the Everyone account, but this is the first time I realized what was going on.

So the workaround is to change your other groups AFTER you add the Everyone account. For me this means clicking on each group and changing the permissions level from [Inherit from parent] to explicitly what it should be, and clicking {Apply}. In the case in the picture on the right, that means to explicitly click on [Read / Write] and click {Apply}.

The bug I see here is that when adding the Everyone account explicitly to a repository, you can not have your other groups inherit their permissions from the parent.  I have seen strange behavior other ways with the Everyone account.  Please let me know if this is expected behavior. :D

By the way, I am on VisualSVN Server 1.6.2, which is the latest release at the time of writing this.

Print | posted on Wednesday, December 10, 2008 8:47 PM | Filed Under [ Code ]

Feedback

Gravatar

# re: Caveat to Adding the Everyone Account in VisualSVN Server

This may be expected behavior: http://groups.google.com/group/visualsvn/browse_thread/thread/5a941430178a7bc0
12/15/2008 10:15 AM | Robz
Comments have been closed on this topic.

Powered by: