.NET Hobbyist Programmer

Staying Confused in a Busy World
posts - 271, comments - 284, trackbacks - 660

My Links

News

Neat Stuff Read all my hurricane entries While you are here, visit the Geeks With Blogs main feed
Advertising
Links Status of the Navy
Channel 9

Tag Cloud

Article Categories

Archives

Post Categories

Blocking the "Green Meanie" Popup Ads

I am not sure why it took me so long to implement, but I finally had it with the Vibrant Media IntelliTXT in-line text advertising and their intrusive pop-ups.  You have probably seen them yourself.  They are the highlighted green words with a double underscore present in many news and blog pages.  While they generate money for those sites, they are as irritating as hell, so I decided to remove them.

I opened a web page which I knew would display the Vibrant advertising.  A few seconds after the page displayed, the green meanies appeared.  That indicated a remote Java script.  Viewing the page source HTML, down at the bottom was a pretty clear text comment: "start Vibrant Media IntelliTXT script section".  Target found.  Well, that was easy.

The script source link was to the IntelliTXT web site, so it was clear that blocking that web site would stop the green meanies.  I use IE8, so I went to the Internet Options, Security tab, Restricted sites zone icon, Sites button.  I added the following to the restricted sites list: *.us.intellitxt.com.  While I was at it, I also included *.tacoda.net to block their behavioral tracking.

Do it yourself for free.

Note: I know there are many add-ins which will do this for you.  I try to run the computers in our house with a minimum of software which needs regular updates.

Update: I also added *.kontera.com to block their "blue meanie" popup ads.

  • Share This Post:
  • Share on Twitter
  • Share on Facebook
  • Share on Technorati

Print | posted on Wednesday, November 11, 2009 5:32 PM | Filed Under [ & Etc. Personal ]

Feedback

Gravatar

# re: Blocking the "Green Meanie" Popup Ads

I listed what you showed to add in Restricted sites and it did nothing...?? Are you sure you didn't leave something out??
12/14/2009 6:27 AM | Paul
Gravatar

# re: Blocking the "Green Meanie" Popup Ads

Thank you, thank you and did I thank you!!
Added all three, and how wonderful it is!

Oh, thank you!
5/22/2010 9:20 AM | paula
Gravatar

# re: Blocking the "Green Meanie" Popup Ads

I read up on this on several websites, but could not make it work until I added the "us." to the intellitxt listing, plus adding *.kontera.com, and *.tacoda.net, so that I now have four sites listed, including *.vibrant media.com.

Kudos to the poster on this thread; it's wonderful to be fre of these obnoxious, intrusive ads!
12/13/2010 12:23 PM | sierradeux
Gravatar

# re: Blocking the "Green Meanie" Popup Ads

Thank you very much for pointing me in the right direction!!! by the way for the "orange meanies" (GameVance ads) the target that worked for me was "*.quantserve.com"
4/21/2011 9:46 PM | Keegan
Gravatar

# re: Blocking the "Green Meanie" Popup Ads

While I was browsing some Colorado Springs classifieds I bumped over your site and I read your article here. I did what you said and nothing happened. The "Green Meanie" Popup ads still "Pop-up" and I really don't know what to do. I even tried to set the firewall to block them and couldn't! Can someone help me ?
1/24/2012 2:32 AM | Emms
Post A Comment
Title:
Name:
Email:
Website:
Comment:
Verification:
 
 

Powered by: