.NET Hobbyist Programmer

Staying Confused in a Busy World
posts - 271, comments - 284, trackbacks - 660

My Links

News

Neat Stuff Read all my hurricane entries While you are here, visit the Geeks With Blogs main feed
Advertising
Links Status of the Navy
Channel 9

Tag Cloud

Article Categories

Archives

Post Categories

Referrer Spam?

Recently, I have a gotten a couple of strange referrals.  They come from different URLs, but all look the same.  These refer to one of my older posts with a rather simple URL something like “http://buy-my-stuff.com/” and nothing else.  It will be a commercial site rather than a search engine, blog or other such site.  Strange.  Accessing these sites, I usually get some form of "This account has been suspended" message.

I can only assume that this is a form of referral spam.  I know some blog engines place their referrals at the bottom of the blog psgr itself.  This would make it a good technique for people who are trying to juice their search engine position.  Since the .Text referrer listings are not public, it would not seem to work on GWB.  It is not a particular problem, just strange.  Anyone else seeing this?

  • Share This Post:
  • Share on Twitter
  • Share on Facebook
  • Share on Technorati

Print | posted on Friday, June 10, 2005 3:53 PM | Filed Under [ & Etc. ]

Feedback

No comments posted yet.
Post A Comment
Title:
Name:
Email:
Website:
Comment:
Verification:
 
 

Powered by: