Tuesday, February 26, 2008 4:18 PM
I had to share what may be the poorest-disguised phishing attempt I've gotten in a while. This came to one of my email accounts this afternoon:
"We recently have determined that different computers have logged onto your Paypal account, and multiple password failures were present before the logons. We now need you to re-confirm your account information to us. If this is not completed by February 26, 2008, we will be forced to suspend your account indefinitely, as it may have been used for fraudulent purposes. We thank you for your cooperation in this manner. To confirm your Online Banking records click on the following link: http://www.badiphoto.com/www.paypal.com.php Thank you for your patience in this matter. Paypal Customer Service. Please do not reply to this e-mail as this is only a notification. Mail sent to this address cannot be answered. 1999-2008 PayPal. All rights reserved."
Seriously, is that the best you can do? Tell me that my PayPal account's been accessed from more than one computer? My favorite part of this poor attempt is the link - www.BADIPHOTO.com? I'm pretty sure PayPal can afford to have their own domain name and figure out how to answer an email ("Please do not reply to this e-mail as this is only a notification.")
In any case, I'm personally offended that they could think anybody with ANY amount of intelligence about how links work would fall for this. Do me a favor and get better at fooling people if you're going to be a piece of scum and try to steal people's information!