Geeks With Blogs

News





The SharePoint Hillbilly Fewer Big Words... More Pretty Pictures...

For those about to Rock…. We salute you!  

kc_dc

Artist’s rendering of @mrackley, @mosslover, @catpaint1, and @ericharlan who were at BOTH KC & DC… get it KC/DC… light bulb?

 

So, SharePoint Saturday Kansas City and Washington DC were back-to-back weekends and I was fortunate enough to attend both.  Also in attendance at both were Becky Isserman (@mosslover), Cathy Dew (@catpaint1), Eric Harlan (@ericharlan), Susan Lennon (@SusanLennon) and Susan Henry (@Sukiakisue).  If I forgot anyone, please let me know.  These road warriors need to get some credit for their time…. not me though, I’m just in it for the swag and speaker dinners. :)

SharePoint Saturday Washington DC

First off, SharePoint Saturday DC was on December 5th.  I was a last minute addition to the speaker list and SO glad I made the trip out. I met a lot of awesome new people and also got to see a lot of friends from the SharePoint Conference.  Dan Usher (@usher), Dux Raymond Sy (@meetdux), and Gino Degregori (@gdegregori) were the organizers, and as always did a tremendous job. If you aren’t following these guys on twitter or have a small shrine devoted to them, then you really are just missing out.

I presented again on “Wrapping Your Head Around the SharePoint Beast”. Keep an eye out for the slides at the SharePoint Saturday DC site. I had a great crowd that hopefully got something out of the talk. I created this session as the session I wish I would have attended before jumping head first into SharePoint.  It’s near and dear to my heart, so if you didn’t like it, please tell me how to make it better.  I also had two of my most favorite SharePointers Lori Gowin (@lorigowin) and Geoff Varosky (@gvaro) in attendance to help me out. Thanks for the support guys!

The day ended with SharePint at the American Tap Room in Reston, VA, followed by Chocolate Waffles at Jackson’s and then a trip over to the Hyatt nearby to finish off the evening.  Even with the 6 inches of snow we received that day it was for the most part an awesome evening. If you are not taking the time to get to know your fellow SharePointers, then you are missing out on more than you will ever realize.

Among the awesome people I got to hang out with (aside from those already mentioned): Christina Wheeler (@cwheeler76), Stacy Draper (@stacydraper), Erica Toelle (@ericatoelle), Richard Harbridge (@rharbridge), Heather Waterman (@hwaterman), Marcy Kellar (@marcykellar), Ruven Gotz (@ruveng), Janis Hall (@janishall), Deanna McNeil (@deannie), and Bob Fox (@bfox11b).  If I forgot you, please shame me…

SharePoint Saturday Kansas City

Next up was SharePoint Saturday Kansas City this last weekend (December 12th).  This tremendously successful event was organized by Becky Isserman (@mosslover) and Kevin Hughes (@SharePointKevin).  These guys did a great job, had a great venue, and was probably by far the most well organized SharePoint Saturday event I have ever attended. GREAT JOB guys!

Friday started off with the Speaker Dinner at the hotel followed by a Kansas City adventure with Cathy Dew (@catpaint1), Joel Oleson (@joeloleson), and Eric Harlan (@ericharlan). We went to Oklahoma Joe’s (Best BBQ in KC, and thus the best BBQ in the world).  Joel then gave us a tour of Independence, Missouri followed by some Country Rock music at Big Sky Cowboy bar.  I realize it was an early evening for Joel, but we still had a great time!

image





IMG00294

Eating BBQ AFTER Speaker Dinner at Oklahoma Joe’s

Big Sky Cowboy Bar – Yes they had a mechanical bull, no we didn’t ride it.. maybe next time

image image

@ericharlan, @joeloleson, and @catpoint1 At Big Sky Cowboy Bar

@catpaint1, @mrackley, and @ericharlan At Big Sky Cowboy Bar

My first session was a last minute addition due to a speaker not being able to make it.  I put together a quick SharePoint Designer session and called it “Quick & Dirty SharePoint Designer”.  In this session we built a Time Tracking application from scratch using SharePoint and SharePoint Designer.  We then enhanced it based upon requests from the crowd.  I thought for the most part it was a very successful session and I hope everyone there enjoyed themselves and learned something.  I know I did.  Special thanks to all of those who openly participated.  There we no slides for this session, but it was basically a walkthrough of the latest video blog I did (Creating a SharePoint List Parent/Child Relationship – VIDEO REMIX) along with attendee enhancements mentioned previously.

My second session.. well…hmmm… let’s just say that I learned A LOT from it.  :)  My second session was entitled “SharePoint Web Services – The Special Sauce of SharePoint”.  This is the session that I am putting together for SPTechCon in February. Eric Shupps (@eshupps) was gracious enough to let me steal his slides from his Dev Link Session “Serve It Up – Building Collaborative Applications with SharePoint Web Services” as well as let me bounce some ideas off of him for my Demos. I definitely needed this session to not go well (and in that I succeeded!) so that I could tune it properly for my audience.  For those who had to endure it the first time, contact me and I’ll be sure to get you updated slides and code now that I know what it needs to be a great session.  Thank you for your attendance, feedback, and patience.  :) 

The day ended with a great Bison burger from Talk of the Town in Overland Park, Kansas.  Good food and beverage with great people.  Also in attendance (again, forgive me for forgetting anyone): Joy Earles (@JoyKnows), Michael Lotter (@michaellotter), Dennis Bottjer (@dbotter), Cory Roth (@coryroth), Chris Geier (@chrisgeier), Coskun Cavusoglu (@coskunc) and David Petersen (@DIPetersen)

Thanks for a great couple of weekends, next up for me is time with my family!!!  I’m currently not scheduled to speak again until SPTechCon in February, but who knows what will happened!  Stay Tuned!

Posted on Monday, December 14, 2009 2:02 PM | Back to top


Comments on this post: SharePoint Saturday KC/DC – Dirty Deeds Done Dirt Cheap

# bison burger
Requesting Gravatar...
I am with the others and the last fellow before me is right about them being leaner than beef burgers and higher iron too.
Left by Enzyte on Jan 05, 2010 12:32 AM

Your comment:
 (will show your gravatar)


Copyright © Mark Rackley | Powered by: GeeksWithBlogs.net